Home About Malawi

State and Government

State House
His Excellency Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika?
President of the Republic of Malawi

Colony: British
Independence: July 6, 1964
Constitution: May 18, 1995
Ruling party: Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)
Branches: Executive Presidency
Judiciary: High court
Legislative: Unicameral National Assembly (193 members)
Subdivisions: 28 Districts


Under the 1995 constitution, the President, who is both Chief of State and Head of the Government, is chosen through universal direct suffrage every 5 years. Malawi has a Vice President who i
s elected with the President. The President has the option of appointing a second Vice President, who must be from a different party. Cabinet members are appointed by the President from either within or outside of the legislature. Malawi's National Assembly has 193 seats, all directly elected to serve 5-year terms. The Senate is intended to provide representation for traditional leaders and the different geographical districts, as well as various special interest groups, such as women, youth, and the disabled.

The constitution provides for an independent judiciary. Malawi's judicial system, based on the English model, is made up of magisterial lower courts, a high court, a Supreme Court of Appeal, and a constitutional court. Local government is carried out in 28 districts within three regions administered by regional administrators and district commissioners who are appointed by the central government.

Click to view Carbinet